top of page
  • Writer's pictureRin

Goodsmile Racing 2016 Hatsune miku SQ prize figure from Banpresto

Updated: May 24, 2020


Hello everyone,


It has been quite a while since I wrote my last review. But fear not, I am back at writing! Today we will take a look at a prize figure from Banpresto: Racing miku 2016. Since this figure is a SQ prize figure and the ''SQ'' stands for: Special Quality, I have some high hopes for this figure. Since I got her secondhand she unfortunately came without a box, which is a bummer because she was damaged a bit during shipping. Where I start normally with some decent pictures of the box, I sadly have to disappoint you on this one.


I will take into account this figure is a prize figure; and thus can't meet the expectations of a sclae figure. Since this figure costs at it's release about 10-15 euros, you can't expect it is at par with a 200+ euro scale figure. If you might wonder why I will be overlooking some flaws, that's why.


The figure itself comes in several parts that are very easy to assemble.

Her 2 twintails are detachable, her arm also is as wel the stand and arm of the stand (I left the arm of the stand assembled in this picture, but you can remove it). But since she needs it for the support I highly advice using this piece.

First a little spinaround!

The sculpt of the figure is really dynamic, which I really like; the flowing hair with the colorgradient, the running motion while holding the bicycle wheel and her helmet. The facial expression is just super cute! The anatomy of the boy is spot on. A nice little touch for me is the waterbottles almost falling out of her bag. That really emphasizes the dynamic pose. The printing of her cycling clothing is quite spot on and is very clear to read and doesn't have any smudges. She is quite well detailed as for her cyclewheel they added a valve, the shoes are also nice and detailed.


The cons for me for this figure is the huge bulky white base. I am generally not a fan of huge white/black bases. In my opinion this can easily be countered with some printing on it; for example they could have used some road like pinting on there. (But that is just me nitpicking)

There are also some seams in her hair, which are especially noticeable in her bangs. The paint is reasonable for the figure, not everywhere the paint follows the sculpt but you only notice it when you look very closely. They did quite a decent job there.


My overall verdict of this figure:

I like this prize figure despite the fact it's a prize figure. I don't own many prize figures because I am usally put off by the quality. But the quality has improved a lot the last couple of years so I might get more prizefigures in the future (and then customize the bases)


If you fancy getting this figure you can always check out solaris japan, they sell original japanese figures. Link out.


Thank you for reading my first figure review of a prize figure! I hope you enjoyed it, and see you at the next figure review. Which I promise will be posted sooner as this one.

80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page